The Four Elements in Tarot

In the Western Mystery Traditions, the four primary elements are Earth, Air, Fire and Water.

These basic components have been a core part of occult sciences including Tarot, Astrology, Magick and Alchemy for over two thousand years.

The Greek Philosopher Empedocles of Acragas (495—435 B.C.) developed the theory, that the four elements were the basis for all life on earth, everything in existence. This theory was later endorsed and supported by Aristotle.

Since then scientists and philosophers have studied and investigated the meaning and attributes of the four elements, their influence on our world and interaction with each other.

Gradually, the elements were incorporated into the Tarot.

In order to gain a deeper understanding of the Tarot, it is necessary to familiarize yourself with the elements, their attributes and correspondences, to  increase your awareness of them around you:

Fire Water Air Earth

the four elements in tarot - Ace of WandsAce of CupsAce of SwordsAce of Pentacles






Images: The Aquatic Tarot, © Andreas Schröter,

For more free Tarot resources, news, tips and inspirations, request my freebies folder and join me on this magickal journey.

You can also connect with me on FacebookTwitterPinterest and Instagram.

Transform your life this year: 
Tarot Readings – Insightful guidance when you need it 
Learn Tarot – A magickal, inspirational tool for life
Tarot eBooks – Great value, innovative Tarot study material

Thank you for leaving your comment. I will respond as soon as I can: